The Kicking Boot exhibition in London

This weekend I attended THE KICKING BOOT exhibition of contemporary Italian designers in London. Silvia Beccaria, an Italian fibre artist whose collars of unusual materials I published in my blog this autumn, exhibited there her amazing contemporary tapestries which you can see in the photo below along with a chair decorated with painted jeans by I do not have any idea whom. The jeans look so realistic! Previously I thought it was a print, but when I came up closer to the chair I saw a real painting!

I bought a lovely handmade hat designed by Marta Anzi.

Marco Cricchio put on display his high-quality sweaters for men. I was impressed with his garments as they look different from what we normally see at fashion stores and their quality is very high! Many products today, even branded, are produced in China, and their quality is poor. To be honest, I bought a sweater from GUESS a month ago and two kinks arose on the first day I wore it! In contrast, Marco Cricchio produces his high-quality sweaters at home using his machines and thousands of needles to create complicated texture details in the most unexpected parts of garments. Details are very much important in men’s fashion, and all Marco’s sweaters are carefully detailed. It takes two hours to make a small detail and four days to make a seamless full piece upper part of sweater. You can see some necklines of the designer’s collection in the photo below. More photos of his garments find on his website.

Amazing collars were presented on coats designed by Sofia Alemani

And this is my favourite one!

Thanks to all the designers who took part in such a beautiful exhibition creating such a friendly environment.

One thought on “The Kicking Boot exhibition in London

Leave a Reply

